So after using Windows 8 for a few weeks I have found a few “features” that may frustrate a few people. I will start making a note of some of these and provide configurable workarounds where needed.
The first one up is the confirm delete option when deleting files. I understand why this may be an enhancement but I have had years of conditioning where Windows is trying to look after me by double checking I actually wish to delete a file. Now however if you select delete or simply hit the delete key on the keyboard the file is gone, no warning, no check, nothing.
It turns out the option is very quick to turn back on, and below are the steps you need to follow.
1. Right click your “Recycle Bin” on your desktop
2. Select “Properties”.
3. Tick “Display delete confirmation dialog” option to the bottom on the window.
4. Choose “OK” to close the window.
Order is now restored.